The Airbus numbering system is an alphanumeric model number followed by a dash and a three digit number.

The model number often takes the form of the letter “A” followed by a ‘3’, a digit, then followed normally by a ‘0’, for example A320.

There are some exceptions such as: A220, A318, A319, A321 and A400M.

The succeeding three digit number represents the aircraft series, the engine manufacturer and engine version number respectively.

To use an A380-800 with Engine Alliance (EA) GP7200 engines as an example; The code is 8 for series 800, 6 for Engine Alliance and engine version 1, thus the aircraft number is A380-861.

An additional letter is sometimes used. These include:

  • ‘C’ for a combi version (passenger/freighter), 
  • ‘F’ for a freighter model, 
  • ‘R’ for the long-range model, 
  • ā€˜Nā€™ for new engine option (neo), 
  • ‘M’ for a military model, and 
  • ‘X’ for the enhanced model.
  • LR: Long-range
  • XLR: Extra-long range
  • ULR: Ultra-long range
  • P2F: Passenger to freighter

Engine Codes

CodeManufacturing company
0General Electric (GE)
1CFM International (GE and SNECMA, now a subsidiary of Safran)
2Pratt & Whitney (P&W)
3International Aero Engines (P&W, R-R, MTU, Kawasaki, Mitsubishi, and IHI) (IAE V2500 for A320ceo Family)
4Rolls-Royce (R-R)
5CFM International (GE and SNECMA/Safran) (CFM-I LEAP-1A for the A320neo Family)
6Engine Alliance (GE and P&W) (EA GP7200 for the A380)
7Pratt & Whitney (P&W) (PW1100G for the A320neo Family and PW1500G for the A220)


Lets understand with an example – 


  • A320 – Basic Aircraft Model
  • 2 – Series Identification
    • -100 Series
    • -200 Series
  • 5 – Type of Engines
    • 1 – CFMI Engines (ceo)
    • 2 – P&W Engines (A318 only) (ceo)
    • 3 – IAE Engines (ceo)
    • 5 – CFMI Engines (neo)
    • 7 – IAE Engines (neo)
  • 1 – Thrust Rating
  • N – NEO model
  • X – ACF (Airbus Cabin Flex)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *